Did you see what he just tweeted?

How do I use digital media?

I’d like to think that I am not one who spends much time on digital media. But why is that? Sitting here thinking about it, using digital media is certainly not a bad thing.

I think I just have a block against being thought of as one who spends all day on the computer. Maybe I just try to convince myself that I do more productive things. I don’t know.

I do know, however, that I spend too much time on social media sometimes. Like any college student, I feel like time-wasting sites draw me in like a magnet whenever I have something to do.

But when I try to think about it, I’m not really sure what digital media I “consume.”

A lot of times – again, usually when I have work to do coincidentally – I’ll find myself just scrolling through my Newsfeed. I’m not looking for anything in particular. It’s just a time-killer. I’m seeing what other people post: funny things, political things, and just getting updated on goings-on.

I also spend a decent amount of time on Twitter. I mainly follow funny accounts – fake celebrities or even my own friends that tweet a good joke every now and then. I also follow some Spanish-speaking people just to keep up with the language. (Although the Spanish jokes are really corny, figuring out punch lines is a good test of fluency in a language.) So every now and then, I’ll scroll through my Twitter feed and see if there’s anything entertaining.

Finally, I watch YouTube a good amount. Usually I’m drawn there for a certain reason: watching a sports highlight, checking out a band’s new song, etc. However, most of the time I view a video, I’ll somehow spend the next 10 minutes (or two hours) browsing. (That stupid “Related Videos” section!!)

I really do like to think that I don’t spend “too much” time on digital media overall. Yes, I admit I’ll use it to procrastinate too much at times but other than that, I think I balance it well with the rest of my life. I seldom miss out on things going on around me because I’m engrossed in digital media. My digital media consumption would most likely be categorized as “moderate.”

 “Too much” digital media.

One thought on “Did you see what he just tweeted?

  1. I feel a lot like you. I try and do whatever is necessary to not categorize myself as a “social media junkie” however, I feel like we are all junkies at this point. I never thought there would come a day when I was as addicted to my cell phone as my dad was when I was growing up with my sister. We would be on family vacations and he would be texting all the time, and when he wasn’t texting he was on the phone. The worst was when our whole family went on a cruise and we couldn’t go because there wasn’t cell phone reception.

    Well, I guess what I am trying to say is that I hear you, I understand your thoughts, and I relate to everything you are saying. Like you, I consume way too much social media then I had ever desired.

Leave a Reply

